It appears a pesky glitch has impacted Rainbow Six Siege‘s ranking system of late, causing matchmaking rating (MMR) gains and losses to be a bit skew-whiff. Called the ‘ELO glitch’ among the many FPS game’s neighborhood, the bug might be exploited to attain extra beneficial MMR outcomes for a participant’s workforce, however the devs at Ubisoft are patching it out later today.

“We will be deploying a hotfix today, April 19, which will aim to resolve the MMR exploit known in the community as the ‘ELO glitch,” the studio declares on Twitter. “Players affected by this exploit may have noticed opponents leaving and rejoining their match, resulting in irregular MMR gains/losses. With this update, that can no longer happen.”

Rainbow Six Siege streamer and former professional participant George ‘KingGeorge’ Kassa posted a clip about this ELO hiccup earlier this month, during which he outlines what the glitch does. Essentially, he explains, if a participant leaves the sport – both unintentionally or deliberately – after which returns, it is going to trigger their workforce to take a smaller ELO hit in the event that they lose the match or acquire extra ELO if they need to win.

Conversely, the streamer explains, the impact would be the reverse for the opposing workforce, making issues harder for them ELO-wise – so, it’s simple to see how this might current a problem for truthful matchmaking. Particularly as it will probably then play havoc with this season’s lowered MMR cap. With a lower cap of 700 this season – versus 1,000 final season – fluctuations can probably imply a larger affect on whether or not you possibly can play along with your group. But, the excellent news is by later today the bug ought to be banished from the stay multiplayer game.

As for when that’ll be, Ubisoft says the hotfix shall be going stay at 2pm UK / 9am ET / 6am PT, and can final round 30 minutes. So, you possibly can anticipate to see the bug despatched on its approach and the stay recreation again up and operating at round 2:30pm UK / 9:30am ET / 6:30am PT today.

If you’re in search of a technique to spend that half-hour downtime, try our best Rainbow Six Siege operators information and our sister web site The Loadout’s rundown of Rainbow Six Siege ranks for some useful studying.