Lots of people actually favored Supergiant’s mythological roguelike game, Hades. (It ranks excessive on our GotY 2020 record, too.) Now, it’s inspiring fans not simply to get into Greek fable, however to report their very own studying of The Iliad, one of the crucial notable writings of basic fable, and one of the crucial foundational works of Western literature.

The Iliad Project is a studying of The Iliad, as translated by Robert Fagles, set to be launched on June 20. The recording is completed by 27 group readers, and even consists of the vocal abilities of Courtney Vineys, the actor behind Dusa and Aphrodite. It will probably be out there on YouTube and varied podcast apps, following a release stream on June 20 at 3pm PDT / 6pm EDT / 11pm BST.

As you may think, the Hades builders are enthusiastic about it too, and inventive director Greg Kasavin is even offering a ahead for the undertaking. “It’s wonderful when Hades can help spark new or renewed interest in Greek myth,” the devs say on Twitter. “These folks from our community will soon be taking it to the next level with a complete audio recording of the Iliad of Homer, which inspired our Achilles and Patroclus and many other details.”

Stories like The Iliad had been traditionally delivered in the oral custom, so it’s solely acceptable that the group is bringing curiosity again to Hades’ inspirations in simply this format.

Who says you’ll by no means be taught something from videogames?

{“schema”:{“page”:{“content”:{“headline”:”Hades fans are releasing an Iliad audiobook”,”type”:”post”,”category”:”hades”},”user”:{“loginstatus”:false},”game”:{“publisher”:”Supergiant Games”,”genre”:”RPG”,”title”:”Hades”,”genres”:[“RPG”,”Indie”]}}}}