The Game Developer Conference, or GDC, has announced its winners for the numerous award classes in 2021. Developer Supergiant Games walked away with a number of awards, particularly the GDC Game of the Year 2021 award for its most up-to-date title Hades. Additionally, titles like The Last of Us II and Genshin Impact additionally obtained rewards. [Thanks, Famitsu!]

The classes for the GDC 2021 awards included Game of the Year, Best Audio, Best Debut, and Best Design. While some AAA builders walked away with awards, smaller groups and particular person builders additionally obtained awards. Specifically Phasmophobia, which largely featured a single developer engaged on the title till just lately. However, Supergiant Games walked away with the most awards, with Hades receiving a complete of three.

The full record of winners is as follows:

  • Game of the Year: Hades
  • Best Audio: Hades
  • Best Debut: Phasmophobia
  • Best Design: Hades
  • Innovation Award: Dreams
  • Best Mobile Game: Genshin Impact
  • Best Narrative: The Last of Us Part II
  • Best Technology: Microsoft Flight Simulator
  • Best Visual Art: Ghost of Tsushima
  • Best VR/AR Game: Half-Life: Alyx
  • Audience Award: Ghost of Tsushima

Titles that had been nominated for the Game of the Year award included Animal Crossing: New Horizons, The Last of Us II, Ghost of Tsushima, and Half-Life: Alyx.

Additionally, unbiased titles like Umerangi Generation obtained a number of awards inside the Independent Game Festival bracket. It obtained the grand prize and an award for greatest narrative.