Square Enix has shared the dates for the next beta phase of Babylon’s Fall, which will introduce the game to PlayStation 4 consoles. The second beta phase will focus on testing the technical aspects of the game and will be shorter than the previous phase running for two and a half hours total. Additionally, Square Enix published a report including user responses and feedback from the first beta test. The closed beta test period will begin in Japan on September 10, 2021. The North American beta will begin on September 11, 2021, and the European beta on September 13, 2021.

The second beta phase test dates and times are below.

  • Japan: 7:30pm JST/6:30am ET – 10pm JST/9am ET
  • North America: 7:30pm PT/10:30pm ET – 10pm PT/1am ET
  • Europe: 7:30pm BST/8:30pm CET – 10pm BST/11pm CET

Specifically, the second phase will focus on server stress testing through the addition of the PlayStation 4 version. Therefore, the Babylon’s Fall PS4 beta will not feature the game’s initial story and tutorial. However, it will add a new quest titled “Triumphal Square.” Furthermore, while PC and PS4 users will play on separate servers during the test, Square Enix notes that it plans to conduct cross-platform tests as well as add a PS5 version in the third upcoming beta phase scheduled for November 2021.

The first beta phase report notes that a majority of players found the game’s technical performance was good. About 60 percent of users said matchmaking times “felt just right” and 65 percent of users stated latency allowed them to play smoothly. On the other hand, players also commented that the pacing and action of Babylon’s Fall were slow and not exciting. To this, director Kenji Saito states that the team will rework attack animations and enemy behavior. Furthermore, Square Enix will also add keyboard support with the retail version of the game.

Babylon’s Fall is currently in development for PC, PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 5. The second beta test will be available for the PC via Steam and PlayStation 4. PlayStation 5 users can join in via backward compatibility.