Final Fantasy XIV has been struggling to sustain with its quickly increasing reputation in latest months, and the devs are making some extra modifications to handle the problems. But that’s going to take some work, and thus servers are coming down for an prolonged maintenance interval this night. Nothing to do however wait for them to come again up, sadly.

FFXIV servers will go down throughout North America and Europe beginning at 7pm PDT / 10pm EDT on September 27 (that’s right now), or 3am BST on September 28 (that’s tomorrow). The companion app and Lodestone web site may even be unavailable throughout maintenance – these will come again up on September 28 at midnight PDT / 3am EDT / 8am BST.

Access to FFXIV itself will probably be restored on September 28 at 3am PDT / 6am EDT / 11am BST. The devs say that in this maintenance work, they are going to be “implementing measures to address heavy server stress loads based on the result from the public server stress test we have held the other day”.

FFXIV equally went down for a nine-hour hotfix again in August, so prolonged durations of deliberate downtime aren’t unheard of. The devs have been planning server upgrades for a while. Currently, the Aether knowledge middle in North America is closed to new characters.

YouTube Thumbnail

Server calls for for the MMORPG are seemingly to maintain getting extra intense as we get nearer to the Endwalker launch date, so right here’s hoping the fixes help.